Mon – Thur: 9AM to 9PM | Fri – Sat: 9AM to 5PM | Sun: 1PM to 5PM
4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 | 708-867-7828
Mon – Thur: 9AM to 9PM
Fri – Sat: 9AM to 5PM
Sun: 1PM to 5PM
4613 N Oketo Ave
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 708-867-7828

Mon – Thur: 9AM to 9PM | Fri – Sat: 9AM to 5PM | Sun: 1PM to 5PM

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell

Iris Lockhart is stunned when she receives news that her great-aunt Esme, a previously unknown woman edited out of her family's history, is being released from Cauldstone Hospital, where she has been confined for more than sixty years, and soon discovers that Esme holds the key to long-hidden family secrets that could change her life forever.


Read More

For Fans of Steven King and If It Bleeds

Stephen King's been on fire lately with his recent books, The Institute and The Outsider considered returns to form and successful filmed adaptations of his books and short stories like Doctor Sleep, It, In the Tall Grass, Mr. Mercedes, and the upcoming miniseries of The Stand.


Read More

Films for our Feathered Friends

The Birds directed by Alfred Hitchcock
Our first stop is with the film that made everyone terrified of the winged animals outside your house (and perhaps the two legged ones inside of it.)
DVD

Lady Bird directed by Greta Gerwig
Every bird leaves the nest eventually. Watch the proud Lady Bird wow you with her rebellious display sure to tug on her mother’s heart strings.


Read More

Books for Fans of Lovecraft Country

Called a "necessary reimagining of genre fiction" by Wired and a "middle finger to a century of racist sci-fi, HBO’s newest series, Lovecraft Country, based on the novel by Matt Ruff, follows Atticus Freeman on a road trip across 1950s America in search of his missing father and struggles to survive the racist terrors of Jim Crow-era America and the terrifying monsters that could be ripped from a Lovecraft paperback.


Read More

3rd – 5th Grade Graphic Novel Club: Brave Chef Brianna

Thursday, September 24, 2020, 4:00 PM

Do you love graphic novels? Are you in grades 3-5? Join us via Zoom video chat as we discuss Brave Chef Brianna by Sam Sykes & Selina Espiritu.

Register with an email address and we'll send the Zoom meeting link the evening before our discussion.


Read More

September 2020 LibraryReads List

Every month at libraryreads.org, librarians across the county nominate their favorite upcoming books. Whichever books get the most nominations go onto the monthly list. Place holds now to get these sure-to-be popular books as soon as possible after they're released.


Read More

For Fans of Netflix’s “Cursed”

The new series Cursed is taking Netflix by storm. Based on the Young Adult Fantasy novel by Thomas Wheeler and Frank Miller, Cursed tells the story of Nimue, the Lady of the Lake from the legend of King Arthur, as she fights to keep the magical sword Excalibur from falling into the wrong hands.


Read More

Stay-at-Home Movie Party: Horror Express

Monday, September 21, 2020, 7:00 PM.

We may not be able to watch movies together right now but that doesn't mean we can't keep the screenings going. Join us on our Facebook page at 7:00 PM for an online screening of the Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing classic, Horror Express.


Read More

100 Years of Women Voters

Passed by Congress June 4th, 1919, and ratified 100 years ago today on August 18th, 1920, the 19th amendment to the Constitution granted American women the right to vote. Let's celebrate with five books that tell the story of those who birthed a revolution, fought to win this right, and ultimately, changed the world.


Read More

August 18, 2020 Special Board Meeting Agenda

A Special Meeting of the Eisenhower Public Library District Board of Trustees will be held on Tuesday, August 18, 2019 at 7:00 P.M.

On Friday, June 12, 2020, Governor Pritzker has signed P.A.100-0640 (SB 2135) into law. Per SB 2135, …


Read More

Stay-at-Home Movie Party: Safety Last

Monday, September 14, 2020, 7:00 PM.

We may not be able to watch movies together right now but that doesn't mean we can't keep the screenings going. Join us on our Facebook page at 7:00 PM for an online screening of Harold Lloyd's astonishing stunt filled silent classic, Safety Last.


Read More

Libraries Transform Book Pick: Book of the Little Axe

September 14 - 28, 2020.

We’re excited to join the Libraries Transform Book Pick, a digital reading program that connects readers nationwide by offering free access to the same ebook through Overdrive/Libby, with no holds or waiting lists.

From September 14th through 28th, Norridge and Harwood Heights residents can enjoy and discuss Book of the Little Axe by Lauren Francis-Sharma.


Read More

August 13, 2020 Island Within A City Committee Minutes

The Meeting of the Eisenhower Public Library District Board of Trustees Island Within A City Committee August 13, 2020

CALL TO ORDER

President Braun, called the meeting to order at 6:33 P.M.

ROLL CALL

Present Electronically: Ringelstein, Ross, Braun, Magnelli, …


Read More

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

In 1946, Laura McAllan struggles to raise children without electricity or running water on her husband's failing Mississippi Delta farm. As the war comes to an end, two young men return to work the land.


Read More

August 13, 2020 Island Within A City Committee Agenda

A Meeting of the Eisenhower Public Library District Board of Trustees Island Within A City Committee will be held on Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 6:30 P.M.

On Friday, June 12, 2020, Governor Pritzker has signed P.A.100-0640 (SB 2135) into …


Read More

August 13, 2020 Board Meeting Agenda

The Regular Meeting of the Eisenhower Public Library District Board of Trustees will be held on Thursday August 13, 2020 at 7:30 P.M.

On Friday, June 12, 2020, Governor Pritzker has signed P.A.100-0640 (SB 2135) into law. Per SB 2135, …


Read More