Adult Book Discussion: A Distant Heart

Monday, October 07, 6:00 – 7:30 PM. Tuesday, October 08, 2:00 – 3:30 PM.

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be A Distant Heart by Sonali Dev.

Kimi grows up in a mansion at the top of Mumbai’s …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: At the Wolf’s Table

Monday, September 09, 6:00 – 7:30 PMTuesday, September 10, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be At the Wolf’s Table by Rosella Postorino.

Germany, 1943: Impoverished and alone, Rosa has been conscripted to be one …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: Girl in Disguise

Monday, July 01, 7:00 – 8:30 PMTuesday, July 02, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be Girl in Disguise by Greer Macallister.

In the tumultuous years of the Civil War, the streets of Chicago offer …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: Burned

Monday, June 03, 7:00 – 8:30 PMTuesday, June 04, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be Burned by Edward Humes.

In 1989, Jo Ann Parks survived a house fire that claimed the lives of her …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: The Dollhouse

Monday, May 06, 7:00 – 8:30 PMTuesday, May 07, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis.

When she arrives at the Barbizon Hotel in 1952, secretarial school enrollment in hand, …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: How to Walk Away

Monday, April 08, 7:00 – 8:30 PMTuesday, April 09, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be How to Walk Away by Katherine Center.

Margaret Jacobsen is just about to step into the bright future she’s …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: West

Monday, March 04, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, March 05, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be West by Carys Davies.

When Cy Bellman reads in the newspaper that ancient bones have been discovered in …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: This Is What Happened

Monday, February 04, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, February 05, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be This Is What Happened by Mick Herron.

Living alone in a sublet in the huge city of London, …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: Seven Days of Us

Monday, January 07, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, January 08, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak.

It’s Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: The Dry

Monday, December 03, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, December 04, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be The Dry by Jane Harper.

In the grip of drought, a community is facing life and death choices …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: The Story of Arthur Truluv

Monday, November 12, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, November 13, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg. An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: Nomadland

Monday, October 01, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, October 02, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be Nomadland by Jessica Bruder.

Finding that social security comes up short, older Americans have taken to the road …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: The Black Hour

Monday, September 10, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, September 11, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be The Black Hour by Lori Rader-Day.

For Chicago sociology professor Amelia Emmet, violence was a research topic–until a …


Read More

Adult Book Discussion: The Guineveres

Monday, August 06, 7:00 – 8:30 PM Tuesday, August 07, 2:00 – 3:30 PM

This month’s Adult Book Discussion book will be The Guineveres by Sarah Domet.

To four girls who have nothing, their friendship is everything. The girls are …


Read More