Beginning June 1st, library staff will be in the building taking phone calls from 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM, Monday – Saturday

Mon – Thur: 9am to 9pm | Fri – Sat: 9am to 5pm | Sun: 1pm to 5pm
4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 | 708-867-7828
Mon – Thur: 9am to 9pm
Fri – Sat: 9am to 5pm
Sun: 1pm to 5pm
4613 N Oketo Ave
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

Mon – Thur: 9am to 9pm | Fri – Sat: 9am to 5pm
Sun: 1pm to 5pm

Devolution by Max Brooks

When Kate Holland’s brother Frank approached Max Brooks with a tale about a volcanic eruption, a hi-tech-back-to-nature planned community, a Bigfoot massacre, and his missing sister’s journal, the author of World War Z wondered why Frank thought he would be the best person to tell his sister’s story. “I read your Fangoria article,” Frank answered.

The real-life article about the “Top Five Classic Bigfoot Movies” that Brooks wrote for Fangoria Magazine in 2009 (you can actually read it online) sets the stage for Brook’s new book, a found-footage-inspired horror novel composed of interviews with rangers, excerpts from books on Sasquatch lore, and, primarily, entries from Kate Holland’s journal. A journal that describes in detail, the seige and ultimate destruction of a remote Washington State eco-community by a band of vicious, primitive ape-creatures displaced from their home by the devastating eruption of Mount Rainier.

Like most found footage movies, Devolution starts slow and builds to a chaotic grisly conclusion that questions everything we know about North American wildlife. For fans of Zulu, The Blair Witch Project, and Harry and the Hendersons.

Book | Overdrive Ebook

Categories: Adults and Blog.

Devolution by Max Brooks

When Kate Holland’s brother Frank approached Max Brooks with a tale about a volcanic eruption, a hi-tech-back-to-nature planned community, a Bigfoot massacre, and his missing sister’s journal, the author of World War Z wondered why Frank thought he would be the best person to tell his sister’s story. “I read your Fangoria article,” Frank answered.

The real-life article about the “Top Five Classic Bigfoot Movies” that Brooks wrote for Fangoria Magazine in 2009 (you can actually read it online) sets the stage for Brook’s new book, a found-footage-inspired horror novel composed of interviews with rangers, excerpts from books on Sasquatch lore, and, primarily, entries from Kate Holland’s journal. A journal that describes in detail, the seige and ultimate destruction of a remote Washington State eco-community by a band of vicious, primitive ape-creatures displaced from their home by the devastating eruption of Mount Rainier.

Like most found footage movies, Devolution starts slow and builds to a chaotic grisly conclusion that questions everything we know about North American wildlife. For fans of Zulu, The Blair Witch Project, and Harry and the Hendersons.

Book | Overdrive Ebook

Categories: Adults and Blog.