Mon – Thur: 10:30 am to 6:00 pm | Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 | 708-867-7828
Mon – Thur: 10:30 am to 6:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
4613 N Oketo Ave
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 708-867-7828

Mon – Thur: 10:30 am to 6:00 pm | Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm

One By One by Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware returns to the locked-room mystery in One By One.

The team behind the newest social media sensation, an app called “snoop” that is a more voyeuristic Spotify, takes a work holiday to a rustic-chic French chalet. The app’s founders have more than skiing on their minds: it’s soon obvious that the tension in the boardroom has reached a breaking point. Decisions about the company’s future will be made before the weekend is over.

They don’t even complete a day’s worth of negotiations before their plans are derailed: someone doesn’t come back from a morning on the slopes.

Then the avalanche strikes, injuring one of the two chalet employees and destroying the generator. Phones are out, the heat is failing, the path back to town is blocked, and then the dead body is discovered inside a guest room. How many guests will make it out alive?

Ware nails the snowy, claustrophobic atmosphere in this suspenseful story. I found myself flipping pages as if I were warding off the cold. The beautiful characters became uglier with each twist and reveal, and while the mystery wasn’t the hardest to unravel, I thought this book was a stand-up psychological thriller. Fans of Lucy Foley or Riley Sager should put One by One on hold, or download it from Overdrive.

Book | Overdrive Ebook | Overdrive Audio | Audiobook CD

Categories: Adults and Blog.

One By One by Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware returns to the locked-room mystery in One By One.

The team behind the newest social media sensation, an app called “snoop” that is a more voyeuristic Spotify, takes a work holiday to a rustic-chic French chalet. The app’s founders have more than skiing on their minds: it’s soon obvious that the tension in the boardroom has reached a breaking point. Decisions about the company’s future will be made before the weekend is over.

They don’t even complete a day’s worth of negotiations before their plans are derailed: someone doesn’t come back from a morning on the slopes.

Then the avalanche strikes, injuring one of the two chalet employees and destroying the generator. Phones are out, the heat is failing, the path back to town is blocked, and then the dead body is discovered inside a guest room. How many guests will make it out alive?

Ware nails the snowy, claustrophobic atmosphere in this suspenseful story. I found myself flipping pages as if I were warding off the cold. The beautiful characters became uglier with each twist and reveal, and while the mystery wasn’t the hardest to unravel, I thought this book was a stand-up psychological thriller. Fans of Lucy Foley or Riley Sager should put One by One on hold, or download it from Overdrive.

Book | Overdrive Ebook | Overdrive Audio | Audiobook CD

Categories: Adults and Blog.