On November 3rd we will be a polling place only and closed for regular library service.

Mon – Thur: 10:30 am to 6:00 pm | Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 | 708-867-7828
Mon – Thur: 10:30 am to 6:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
4613 N Oketo Ave
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 708-867-7828

Mon – Thur: 10:30 am to 6:00 pm | Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm

Read-Alikes for Frog and Toad

If you enjoyed reading Frog and Toad Are Friends by Arnold Lobel, these are some other books that you might enjoy, all available from Hoopla and Libby/Overdrive through the library’s website. They are also about friendship and are similar in tone, sweetness or humor. If you like something, let’s read more!



Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry
When Stick rescues Stone from a prickly situation with a Pinecone, the pair becomes fast friends. But when Stick gets stuck, can Stone return the favor?

Author Beth Ferry makes a memorable debut with a warm, rhyming text that includes a subtle anti-bullying message even the youngest reader will understand. New York Times bestselling illustrator Tom Lichtenheld imbues Stick and Stone with energy, emotion, and personality to spare.
Hoopla Ebook | Overdrive Ebook

Penny and Her Doll by Kevin Henkes (this is a series)
When Penny receives a surprise box in the mail from Gram, she is thrilled. The surprise is a doll, and she is absolutely perfect, from her head to her toes. Penny loves her immediately. She introduces her new doll to Mama and to the babies and to Papa. But then Papa asks what the doll’s name is, and Penny realizes that she doesn’t know. What do you think will happen?
Hoopla Ebook



Lion & Tiger & Bear: Tag! You’re It! by Ethan Long
One day, Tiger and Bear want to play a game of tag, but Lion doesn’t want to be disturbed; instead, he wants some quiet time to work on a painting. Tiger and Bear try to entice Lion to play, but their antics only have the opposite effect—what does a lion have to do to find some peace and quiet? In the end, Lion has a surprise for his friends after they exercise some patience, and each learns why it’s important to have both quiet time and playtime. Stunning illustrations by Ethan Long, author and illustrator of Hi!, a Parents Magazine Best Book of 2015, are rendered in a vintage style with variations in texture.
Hoopla Ebook | Overdrive Ebook

Mr. Putter and Tabby See the Stars by Cynthia Rylant (this is a series)
When Mr. Putter eats twenty-one pineapple jelly rolls, he ends up with a grumbling tummy. Worse, he can’t sleep! A midnight stargazing stroll with Tabby seems to be just the cure-but could it be that Mr. Putter and Tabby aren’t the only ones still wide awake?
Hoopla Ebook | Overdrive Ebook

The Complete Tales Of Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit
Originally published as separate stories throughout the early twentieth century, The Complete Tales of Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit contains all four stories featuring the famous bunny, including The Tale of Peter Rabbit, The Tale of Benjamin Bunny, The Tale of Mr. Tod, and The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies.
Hoopla Ebook

Categories: Kids.

Read-Alikes for Frog and Toad

If you enjoyed reading Frog and Toad Are Friends by Arnold Lobel, these are some other books that you might enjoy, all available from Hoopla and Libby/Overdrive through the library’s website. They are also about friendship and are similar in tone, sweetness or humor. If you like something, let’s read more!



Stick and Stone by Beth Ferry
When Stick rescues Stone from a prickly situation with a Pinecone, the pair becomes fast friends. But when Stick gets stuck, can Stone return the favor?

Author Beth Ferry makes a memorable debut with a warm, rhyming text that includes a subtle anti-bullying message even the youngest reader will understand. New York Times bestselling illustrator Tom Lichtenheld imbues Stick and Stone with energy, emotion, and personality to spare.
Hoopla Ebook | Overdrive Ebook

Penny and Her Doll by Kevin Henkes (this is a series)
When Penny receives a surprise box in the mail from Gram, she is thrilled. The surprise is a doll, and she is absolutely perfect, from her head to her toes. Penny loves her immediately. She introduces her new doll to Mama and to the babies and to Papa. But then Papa asks what the doll’s name is, and Penny realizes that she doesn’t know. What do you think will happen?
Hoopla Ebook



Lion & Tiger & Bear: Tag! You’re It! by Ethan Long
One day, Tiger and Bear want to play a game of tag, but Lion doesn’t want to be disturbed; instead, he wants some quiet time to work on a painting. Tiger and Bear try to entice Lion to play, but their antics only have the opposite effect—what does a lion have to do to find some peace and quiet? In the end, Lion has a surprise for his friends after they exercise some patience, and each learns why it’s important to have both quiet time and playtime. Stunning illustrations by Ethan Long, author and illustrator of Hi!, a Parents Magazine Best Book of 2015, are rendered in a vintage style with variations in texture.
Hoopla Ebook | Overdrive Ebook

Mr. Putter and Tabby See the Stars by Cynthia Rylant (this is a series)
When Mr. Putter eats twenty-one pineapple jelly rolls, he ends up with a grumbling tummy. Worse, he can’t sleep! A midnight stargazing stroll with Tabby seems to be just the cure-but could it be that Mr. Putter and Tabby aren’t the only ones still wide awake?
Hoopla Ebook | Overdrive Ebook

The Complete Tales Of Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit
Originally published as separate stories throughout the early twentieth century, The Complete Tales of Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit contains all four stories featuring the famous bunny, including The Tale of Peter Rabbit, The Tale of Benjamin Bunny, The Tale of Mr. Tod, and The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies.
Hoopla Ebook

Categories: Kids.