On November 3rd we will be a polling place only and closed for regular library service.

Mon – Thur: 11:30 am to 7:00 pm | Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 | 708-867-7828
Mon – Thur: 11:30 am to 7:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm
4613 N Oketo Ave
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 708-867-7828

Mon – Thur: 11:30 am to 7:00 pm | Fri – Sat: 9:30 am to 5:00 pm

Six Books for Fans of Rupi Kaur

Rupi Kaur’s debut collection of poetry, Milk and Honey, was a unprecedented success last year. Our copies are still always checked out. We were thrilled to find out her next book, The Sun and Her Flowers is coming out in October. Until then, here’s five poetry collections that should appeal to Rupi Kaur fans.

 

The Princess Saves Herself In This One
From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration. Winner of the 2016 Goodreads Choice Award, The Princess Saves Herself In This One is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending.

 

Selected Poems
This classic volume by Gwendolyn Books, the distinguished modern poet and winner of the 1950 Pulitzer Prize represents her technical mastery, her compassionate and illuminating response to a world that is both special and universal, and her warm humanity.

 

No Matter the Wreckage
Sarah Kay, in collaboration with illustrator Sophia Janowitz, releases her debut collection of poetry featuring work from the first decade of her career. Her poems celebrate family, love, travel, and unlikely romance between inanimate objects.

 

The Gorgeous Nothings
While Emily Dickinson was a prolific private poet, fewer than a dozen of her nearly 1,800 poems were published during her lifetime. The Gorgeous Nothings is a deluxe edition of her late writings, presenting this crucially important, experimental late work exactly as she wrote it on scraps of envelopes.

 

Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth
in Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth, we witness the unearthing of a poet who finds her way through all preconceptions to strike the heart directly. Warsan Shire is a Kenyan-born Somali poet and writer based in London. Born in 1988, she is an artist and activist who uses her work to document narratives of journey and trauma.

 

Ariel
Sylvia Plath’s second book of poetry, Ariel, written in 1962 in a last fever of passionate creative activity, was published posthumously in 1965 and explores dimensions of women’s anger and sexuality in groundbreaking new ways. Plath’s struggles with women’s issues, in the days before the second wave of American feminism, became legendary in the 1970s, when a new generation of women readers and writers turned to her life as well as her work to understand the contradictory pressures of ambitious and talented women in the 1950s.

Categories: Teens.

Six Books for Fans of Rupi Kaur

Rupi Kaur’s debut collection of poetry, Milk and Honey, was a unprecedented success last year. Our copies are still always checked out. We were thrilled to find out her next book, The Sun and Her Flowers is coming out in October. Until then, here’s five poetry collections that should appeal to Rupi Kaur fans.

 

The Princess Saves Herself In This One
From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration. Winner of the 2016 Goodreads Choice Award, The Princess Saves Herself In This One is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending.

 

Selected Poems
This classic volume by Gwendolyn Books, the distinguished modern poet and winner of the 1950 Pulitzer Prize represents her technical mastery, her compassionate and illuminating response to a world that is both special and universal, and her warm humanity.

 

No Matter the Wreckage
Sarah Kay, in collaboration with illustrator Sophia Janowitz, releases her debut collection of poetry featuring work from the first decade of her career. Her poems celebrate family, love, travel, and unlikely romance between inanimate objects.

 

The Gorgeous Nothings
While Emily Dickinson was a prolific private poet, fewer than a dozen of her nearly 1,800 poems were published during her lifetime. The Gorgeous Nothings is a deluxe edition of her late writings, presenting this crucially important, experimental late work exactly as she wrote it on scraps of envelopes.

 

Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth
in Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth, we witness the unearthing of a poet who finds her way through all preconceptions to strike the heart directly. Warsan Shire is a Kenyan-born Somali poet and writer based in London. Born in 1988, she is an artist and activist who uses her work to document narratives of journey and trauma.

 

Ariel
Sylvia Plath’s second book of poetry, Ariel, written in 1962 in a last fever of passionate creative activity, was published posthumously in 1965 and explores dimensions of women’s anger and sexuality in groundbreaking new ways. Plath’s struggles with women’s issues, in the days before the second wave of American feminism, became legendary in the 1970s, when a new generation of women readers and writers turned to her life as well as her work to understand the contradictory pressures of ambitious and talented women in the 1950s.

Categories: Teens.