Mon – Thur: 9AM to 9PM | Fri – Sat: 9AM to 5PM | Sun: 1PM to 5PM
4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 | 708-867-7828
Mon – Thur: 9AM to 9PM
Fri – Sat: 9AM to 5PM
Sun: 1PM to 5PM
4613 N Oketo Ave
Harwood Heights, IL 60706
708-867-7828

4613 N Oketo Ave, Harwood Heights, IL 60706 708-867-7828

Mon – Thur: 9AM to 9PM | Fri – Sat: 9AM to 5PM | Sun: 1PM to 5PM

Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas

Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas

“Ms. Etta, can you teach me to swim?”

Bree and her father just moved to Florida. Unfortunately, all of the fourth period electives were already full causing her to be enrolled in Swim 101- and Bree can’t swim!

Fear of looking bad in front of the other students cause her to skip class and then taunts prompt Bree to walk out of the private lessons her father found for her. Luckily, as Bree was drowning (literally) in fear, in comes Ms. Etta, a woman in their housing complex who is a highly enthusiastic puzzler and… former professional swimmer?? Under Ms. Etta’s tutelage, Bree goes from floundering to swimming well enough to be conscripted for the school’s swim team!

Racism as well as community “have’s” and “have nots” are strong elements running through these panels, and are well balanced with the themes of friendship and overcoming fear. This graphic novel for mid to upper elementary readers is highly recommended for fans of Smile, Roller Girl and New Kid.

Categories: Blog and Kids.

Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas

Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas

“Ms. Etta, can you teach me to swim?”

Bree and her father just moved to Florida. Unfortunately, all of the fourth period electives were already full causing her to be enrolled in Swim 101- and Bree can’t swim!

Fear of looking bad in front of the other students cause her to skip class and then taunts prompt Bree to walk out of the private lessons her father found for her. Luckily, as Bree was drowning (literally) in fear, in comes Ms. Etta, a woman in their housing complex who is a highly enthusiastic puzzler and… former professional swimmer?? Under Ms. Etta’s tutelage, Bree goes from floundering to swimming well enough to be conscripted for the school’s swim team!

Racism as well as community “have’s” and “have nots” are strong elements running through these panels, and are well balanced with the themes of friendship and overcoming fear. This graphic novel for mid to upper elementary readers is highly recommended for fans of Smile, Roller Girl and New Kid.

Categories: Blog and Kids.