For Fans of Steven King and If It Bleeds

Stephen King's been on fire lately with his recent books, The Institute and The Outsider considered returns to form and successful filmed adaptations of his books and short stories like Doctor Sleep, It, In the Tall Grass, Mr. Mercedes, and the upcoming miniseries of The Stand.


Read More

Books for Fans of Lovecraft Country

Called a "necessary reimagining of genre fiction" by Wired and a "middle finger to a century of racist sci-fi, HBO’s newest series, Lovecraft Country, based on the novel by Matt Ruff, follows Atticus Freeman on a road trip across 1950s America in search of his missing father and struggles to survive the racist terrors of Jim Crow-era America and the terrifying monsters that could be ripped from a Lovecraft paperback.


Read More

For Fans of Netflix’s “Cursed”

The new series Cursed is taking Netflix by storm. Based on the Young Adult Fantasy novel by Thomas Wheeler and Frank Miller, Cursed tells the story of Nimue, the Lady of the Lake from the legend of King Arthur, as she fights to keep the magical sword Excalibur from falling into the wrong hands.


Read More

For Fans of Shirley Jackson

If you’re fascinated with the strange and creepy underpinnings of life you can’t do better than Shirley Jackson. Her short story “The Lottery” is a classic, and her novels, including We Have Always Lived in the Castle and The Haunting of Hill House, look at the horror that is often hiding in the banality of the everyday. But if you’ve read all of her work and are looking for something in the same vein, try these books.


Read More

Books for Fans of Normal People

The 12-part adaptation of Sally Rooney's Normal People seems to be a legitimate hit for Hulu. The show and the novel track the lives of two people who, despite, changing lives, are always irresistibly drawn back together.


Read More

Read-Alikes for Frog and Toad

If you enjoyed reading Frog and Toad Are Friends by Arnold Lobel, these are some other books that you might enjoy, all available from Hoopla and Libby/Overdrive through the library’s website. They are also about friendship and are similar in tone, sweetness or humor. If you like something, let’s read more!


Read More

Six Books for Fans of A List of Cages

If you're a student at Ridgewood, I know you had to read A List of Cages as your summer reading book. Since it was required, you probably hated it. But if you didn't, if instead you though it was pretty good, maybe even great, here's a list of six book you might also like.


Read More

12 Books to Read After Watching Black Mirror

The third season of Charlie Brooker's Black Mirror premiered on Netflix earlier this month and has quickly replaced Stranger Things as the number one topic of discussion among pop culture obsessed viewers. If you haven't seen Black Mirror, you can think of it as a modern take on The Twilight Zone.


Read More